top of page

What are the 7 Main Chakras?

Updated: Nov 7, 2023

The seven chakras are thought of as the main energy points in your body, which run down the spine.

Chakras have only recently become more well-known, with the growth in popularity of yoga and New Age philosophies in general. They are a complex and ancient energy system that originated in India. Chakras were first mentioned in the Vedas, ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating from 1500 to 1000 BC.

So what are the 7 Chakras?

1. Muladhara

This is situated at the base of the spine. It has the colour RED associated with it meaning - physical ability, stability and grounding.

A blocked root chakra can manifest as physical issues like arthritis, constipation, and bladder or colon problems, or emotionally through feeling insecure about finances or our basic needs and well-being. When it’s in alignment and open, we will feel grounded and secure, both physically and emotionally.

2. Svadhisthana

This is situated between your hips. The colour ORANGE is associated with this Chakra which is all about sexuality, creativity and pleasure.

Issues with this chakra can be seen via problems with the associated organs, like urinary tract infections, lower back pain, and impotency. Emotionally, this chakra is connected to our feelings of self-worth, and even more specifically, our self-worth around pleasure, sexuality, and creativity.

3. Manipura

This is the solar plexus Chakra. It has the colour YELLOW associated with it.

Blockages in the third chakra are often experienced through digestive issues like ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion. It’s the chakra of our personal power. This means that it is associated with self esteem and confidence.

4. Anahata

The heart Chakra, has the colour GREEN associated with it. Blocks in our heart chakra can manifest in our physical health through heart problems, asthma, and weight issues.

But blocks are often seen even more clearly through people’s actions. People with heart chakra blocks often put others first, to their own detriment. It’s the middle of the seven chakras, so it bridges the gap between our upper and lower chakras, and it also represents our ability to love and connect to others. When out of alignment, it can make us feel lonely, insecure, and isolated.

5. Vishuddha

The throat chakra's colour association is BLUE. This Chakra is all about, as one would expect, this chakra is connected to our ability to communicate verbally.

Voice and throat problems as well as any problems with everything surrounding that area, such as the teeth, gums, and mouth, can indicate a blockage. Blocks or misalignment can also be seen through dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, and having trouble speaking your mind. When in alignment, you will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident when you speak because you know you are being true to yourself with your words.

6. Ajna

This is the third eye Chakra. Colour association is INDIGO. Since this chakra is physically located on the head, blockages can manifest as headaches, issues with sight or concentration, and hearing problems.

People who have trouble listening to reality (who seem to “know it all”) or who are not in touch with their intuition may also have a block. When open and in alignment, it’s thought that people will follow their intuition and be able to see the big picture.

7. Sahasrara

This is the Crown Chakra. It is associated with the colour VIOLET.

The crown chakra is linked to every other chakra (and therefore every organ in this system), and so it affects not just all of those organs, but also our brain and nervous system. It is considered the chakra of enlightenment and represents our connection to our life’s purpose and spirituality. Those with a blocked crown chakra may seem narrow-minded, skeptical, or stubborn. When this chakra is open, it is thought to help keep all the other chakras open and to bring the person bliss and enlightenment.

49 views0 comments


bottom of page